Kensington Antique Row

Some ways that I am an old lady:

  • My name is June.
  • I like tea.
  • I visit historical antique districts.

The last one is what this post is about. This weekend we visited Kensington’s Antique Row and I thought I’d share some of the treasure we came upon.

Children’s Books galore! This is Mother (Goose) in Heroglyphicks. The stories were a combination of words and pictures, like the title.
This one is about Reynard–a fox! There was also a German story book where a fox was the main character as well.
Locked away in a cabinet: a first edition of Edward Gorey’s 3 book collection, “The Vinegar Works”!
I couldn’t believe this book was out–to be touched. It was one of several academic books–this one was about math–from the 1800s. The handwriting in it was gorgeous, as you can see. The narrative was scrawling and stream-of-consciousness, the line and shape of the letters were the entirety of its eloquence. Tucked in between some of the pages was this envelope, which I gently peeked into and teased out the contents: flowers.
I could have cried touching this book. It seems criminal that it was just out on a shelf, with a host of other books. The poor thing was simply disintegrating–the date 1897 on the inside pages. But look at the cover! The lettering, the illustration, the design, the texture. Gorgeous. I gingerly, gingerly lifted a few of the pages–felt the spine quaking–just long enough to steal a look at the poems and illustrations buried inside. Tennyson under many contexts makes me awfully sentimental but this especially…
The set of Cassel’s Natural History books made me happier, though. Fit, huge, and full of amazing scientific illustrations.

An antique bird (?) cage, and framed butterfly specimens.

I love that so many of these things are inspired by nature. A set of white animal dishes. My favorite was the fox, of course. And, hanging on the wall, an old illustration of mushrooms. Alice in Wonderland, anyone?

More whimsy! A bird-and-wishbone dish.

Not an antique! This cat was prowling one of the shops known for massive pieces, including huge statues of horses and elks and other such wonders. He was extremely friendly and fluffy.

These pieces all came from a German estate of some kind. The pocket knife was so compact and SOLID. The dog is of course a German Shepherd. The bust of Napoleon reminded me of Holmes (I am pretty sure nothing was hidden in it though–it was metal).

I would have liked to have taken all of these things home with me, but instead I made out with these:
Victorian buttons. Small, beautiful, important things. My favorite (don’t tell the others!) is the one with the arrow–because it reminds me of Robin Hood.

Any favorite finds of your own?

